Impropriety Volume 4 - CD

Impropriety 3 CD cover


Dave Bartley, Shira Kammen, Anita Anderson, Jim Oakden

This CD includes all of the English country dances published in Impropriety Volume IV, the Country Dances of Brooke Friendly and Chris Sackett, performed by the band Roguery.

Roguery is: Anita Anderson (piano) and Dave Bartley (guitars, cittern, mandolin, snare drum) from Seattle, WA, Jim Oakden (recorders, clarinets, tenor banjo, whistles, guitar, mandolin, accordion, gaita, bombard) from Santa Cruz, CA, and Shira Kammen (fiddle, viola, vielle) from Berkeley, CA, who met in the Rogue Valley of Oregon to record this album.

The band's varied influences include English, contra, early music, classical, Breton, Scottish, Irish, Cape Breton, Galician, French, Balkan, jazz-fusion, gospel, Scandinavian, and Greek.

Frank Sullivan of the Rogue Valley, joins the band on track 13 (pedal steel guitar).

Brooke Friendly joins the band on track 15 (shaker egg).

How to order

Available for purchase as digital download or CD on CD Baby.

Roguery: Impropriety, Vol. 4

To order CD from the Country Dance and Song Society (if you're a member you get a 10% discount), go to their online store, email or call 413-268-7426 ext. 2 (open 9:30AM - 5PM (Eastern time), Monday through Friday).

In the UK, it is available from Folk Sales/Derek and Ann Appleing.


  1. It’s Always Something - tune: “Da Vicissitudes of Loif” by Peter Barnes 2008
  2. Essentials (Andrew’s Maggot) - tune by Rebecca King 2010
  3. To Dance Divine - tune: “To Ayre is Purcell” by Shira Kammen 2009
  4. Foot it Featly - tune by Chris Sackett 2009
  5. Jubilation - tune: “Mother’s Day Kas-a-Barh” by Shira Kammen and Ray Price 1999
  6. Travelers - tune: “Partners” by Chris Sackett 2010
  7. Chocolate Moose - tune: “The Goldfinch” by Paul Gitlitz 1999
  8. Reflections - tune: “Mi Querida” by Peter Barnes 2008
  9. Monte Toyon Mist - tune by Steve Hunt 2010
  10. Julie’s Scandal - tune: “Zephyr” by Bo Leyden 2009
  11. A Big Heart - tune by Peter Barnes 2010
  12. Standard Conclusions - tune: “The Royal Forester” (Traditional English)
  13. Banjo in a Bear Suit - tune by Dave Bartley 2009
  14. Ruby-Crowned Kinglet - tune: “Flash of Vermilion” by Dave Bartley 2009
  15. General Grooviness of the Universe - tune: “March for Warren” Peter Barnes 2010
  16. Rain on the Roof - tune: “The White Petticoat” (Traditional Irish)
  17. Birds of a Feather - tune: “Flights of Fancy” by Shira Kammen 2011
  18. 1A - tune: “The Ground Floor” by Chris Sackett 2011
  19. All Who Wander - tune: “Golden Trout Waltz” by Shira Kammen